The Kern County Democratic Central Committee is your connection to the party. Central Committee works register and educate voters, recruit outstanding candidates for elected office and win elections.  

Central Committee members are elected every four years in presidential primary elections. Each of the five Kern County supervisorial districts is represented by between three and five Central Committee members. Additionally, the Democratic nominees of each state and federal office within Kern County is considered an ex-officio member of Central Committee. Both regular and ex-officio members can appoint alternate members who enjoy same rights as the members who appointed them. 

Central Committee is governed by a set of bylaws which outline how members vote, debate and allocate party resources. Additionally, they elect and Executive Board consisting of a party chair, vice chair, secretary, controller and member at-large.



2020-24 Central Committee Members

District 1

 Imelda Ceja-Butkiewicz

 Yvette Flores

 Tahlua Goosby

 Tracy Lopez (Vice Chair)

 Sandy Reding

District 2

 Hortencia Cabral   (Secretary)

 Helen Collins (At-Large)

 Christian Romo (Chair)

 Kathleen Weinstein

District 3

 Jerry Fernandez (Controller)

 Robin Fernandez

 Anna Laven

 Denise Norris

District 4

 Ricardo Perez

 Salvador Solorio-Ruiz

 Veronica Vasquez

 Nicole Villaruz

District 5

 Brenda Cazares

 Margaret Hall

Priscilla Sanchez

Appointed Alternate Members

District 1

 Abel Lopez

Eddie Edwards

 Cathee Romley

 Cheryl Tierce

District 2

Kathy Kneer

Joyce Nash 

 Johanna Valencia

Suzanne Rainbolt

District 3

  Xochitl Garcia

Joni Gregg

 Celsey Taylor

 Robin Walters

District 4

 Ivan Sandoval

 Valerie Gorospe

 Connie Perez-Andreesen

District 5

Katie Irwin

Ex-Officio Members

US House District CA-21 

TJ Cox

Appointed Altnernate

Arnie Morrison

US House District CA-23 

Kim Mangone

Appointed Altnernate

Ralph Burnette

CA Assembly District 26 

Drew Phelps

Appointed Alternate

Elise Modrovich

CA Assembly District 32 

Rudy Salas

Appointed Altnernate

Alice Quintana

CA State Senate District 16 

 Ruth Musser-Lopez 

CA State Senate District 14 

Melissa Hurtado

Appointed Altnernate

Ana Vigil

CA Assembly District 34 

Julie Solis

Appointed Altnernate

Bernice Bonillas

 Paid for by the Kern County Democratic Central Committee. Not Authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.

©2021 Kern County Democratic Party. All Rights Reserved. | FPPC #741996